Learning the cello this week has reminded me of a few things. I was reminded that having decent posture for long periods of time hurts my back. I also remembered when learning a string instrument, or playing one for the first time after a long period of time hurts the fingers. However, I am practicing enough that I should have calluses on my fingers in no time! This week I learned that I don’t like using a bow for playing the cello, as it makes my hand cramp up and it hurts. At the same time, I love using the bow as it sounds so nice and it makes me look professional.

This week I learned some basic songs using my bow, and also by finger picking. I have been practicing both. I learned amazing tunes like “Hot Cross Buns” and “Mary Had A Little Lamb”. I’ve just been practicing these basic songs, along with about ten others so that I can get over sounding like a dying goose. I am beginning to sound like more of a cello player as the practice goes on, but I’m really hoping to sound good by the end of the class.

I have been finding it extremely challenging to find pieces online as most of the music needs to be purchased. I have also been playing some piano music, as cello is in bass clef. I have been finding beginner piano music and just playing the bass clef line on the cello. Since last post, I have also learned how to play the previously learned notes a whole lot better. I am now able to play and move fingerings much faster. I have also learned how to play a G and a B.

